Vegetarian Pho (Pho Chay)

Standard

I just winged this recipe with what I had in the pantry and fridge.  I would have added tofu if I had any on hand.  Please feel free to improvise.  This recipe took me about 15 minutes to make and I think it was better than the Pho I get in our local restaurants.  I may try to make Vegetarian Spring Rolls with Peanut dipping sauce next. 🙂

100 grams or 1/2 package of Bean Vermicelli or Rice Vermicelli

Enough water to cover

3 Cups Organic Vegetarian Broth

or 2 Cubes Pho Chay Soup Seasoning in 3 Cups Water

2 TBS Vegetarian Mushroom Flavored Stir Fry Sauce

A couple of dashes of Bragg Liquid Aminos or Soy Sauce

1/2 Cup Thinly Sliced Onion

1/2 Cup Thinly Sliced Mushrooms

1/2 Cup Thinly Sliced Green Bell Pepper

1 to 2 TBS Olive Oil

Sliced Jalapeno, Lime and Cilantro to garnish

Soak the Vermicelli in water for 7 minutes then drain and discard water.  Put broth or soup cubes and water in pot and bring to a boil, stir in the Vegetarian Mushroom Flavored Stir Fry Sauce and Liquid Aminos add the Vermicelli and cook for 3 minutes.  Meanwhile stir fry the vegetables in hot oil for a few minutes.  Add the vegetables to the Vermicelli and Broth.  Divide between 3 to 4 bowls. Top with sliced Jalapeno, a squeeze of Lime and Cilantro.

2 responses »

  1. YUM!

    Lori, this looks delicious and pretty darn healthy, too! About once a week, M and I go out for sushi at the local Japanese steak-house down the street. It’s quiet and quaint and they know us. And for being valued customers that come back and tip well, they give us free soup and edamame. I am not sure why I am sharing all of this with you . . . I think perhaps because you mentioned tofu, and they put tofu in their soup. Other than that, the delicious soup you have given us a recipe for has nothing to do with the other kind of soup. LOL. I am little silly this morning.

    How are you this week?

    Xoxo
    C

    • It’s been a great week, thank you for asking! I love me some edamame and miso soup too. Rachel had a tummy bug last week and I ran out to our local sushi joint and brought home some miso soup. It was one of the few things she could keep down. I would love to perfect a homemade version but mine is never as good as the restaurants.

      Have a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Comment