Potato and Pea Curry with Saffron Rice

Standard

5 TBS salted butter
1 medium yellow onion cut in1 inch chunks
1 – 3 TBS McCormick Red Curry (1=mild – 3=spicy)
3 TBS sugar
1 10 oz package Mahatma Yellow Saffron Rice
1 can organic cream of mushroom soup
6 cans water
4 medium potatoes peeled and cut in chunks
1 1/2 cups frozen english peas
Salt to taste (butter, rice and soup already have salt)

In large dutch oven sized pot saute onion in butter until lightly cooked. Add curry, sugar and rice mix and saute for 1 minute. Add soup, water and potatoes and stir. Bring to boil, cover and reduce heat to between low and medium. Cook for about 30 mins, stirring occasionally. Add frozen peas and cook until peas are done and potatoes tender, about 10 – 15 more minutes. Serve with hot Naan bread you can now get at most grocery store bakeries. Makes a bunch, but I never have any left to throw out!

About Lori Carter

Hello, my name is Lori and I’m a true child of the seventies. I grew up in a small Texas town. If you’ve ever seen the movie Dazed and Confused then you’ve seen a glimpse of my past. I’m a mother, storyteller, lover of nature, cooking and exploring natural folk remedies for addressing today’s health concerns. I hope you enjoying reading my little blog and I welcome any comments you may wish to share with me.

Leave a Comment

