Springtime Girls

Standard

I am Sister.  A pet-name bestowed upon me by my own sweet parents.  I am no longer a Springtime girl.  My Spring is far behind me and I live in the early days of Fall.  Fall is good, Fall is stable.  Fall is steadfast and reliable, you know what you are getting with Fall.  The trees begin to lose their green glow of youth, but a new beauty takes its place.  Warm reds, golds and yellows color the Fall canvas and a cool brisk air stirs the inner desire to move on, to migrate to the next chapter.  I like being Fall.  These are my Springtime girls.

sisters-60F

My oldest precious daughter is Baby Sister Girl.  She came to me in the Spring, like the first tender blossom, stretching her tiny face toward the warm sun, full of wonder and eager to meet every challenge put before her.  She is strong, she is confident, she is a go getter.  She knows what she wants out of life and she will stop at nothing to get it.  You always know where you stand with her, she pulls no punches.  I have made my share of mistakes in tending to this flower, but in spite of my shortcomings, she has thrived.  Her roots are strong, her core is solid.   In a field of flowers, she’s the one your eye is drawn to.  She is my pride and joy.

sisters-52F

My youngest is Cake.  She is another Springtime girl and like her mother, she is an old soul.  Cake is the Ghost Orchid, a precious and rare flower.  She is one of a kind, she is unique.  She marches to the beat of a different drum.  She is excentric and hilarious, delicious and irresistible.  Cake is a bohemian, a gypsy, an artist.  Cake does not conform, she does things on own her terms.  She is tender, compassionate, loving and kind.  She is the most optimistic person I know.  Evil does not exist in her world.  She teaches me something new every day.

sisters-201F

I am Sister, the mother, the teacher, the gardener entrusted to the care of these Springtime Girls.  My harvest is rich, my basket is full.

23 responses »

    • Thank you Michael! That field of bluebonnets is in your old stomping grounds between Palmer and Bristol. Another bit trivia, my mom is from Ennis. My dad’s family lived there for a several years when his father was preaching at a small church near a place called the Valley Farm. My parents met as teenagers when my mom was cruising downtown Ennis with her girlfriends and my dad was working at one of the service stations pumping gas. Small world, ain’t it? 😉

      • Holy Cow! I had no idea you were from anywhere near me. My grandmother lived in Palmer and my father and I would ride his motorcycle along the bluebonnet strewn roads to and from bristol and Palmer.
        I tell my wife all the time she would have to see these to believe them and here you are posting amazing shots.
        I am just blown away by all of this..blown away!

  1. What gorgeous words spoken in such sincerity and love. It comes to me as no surprise that your girls are equally as beautiful as you, inside and out, the joy and pride of your life.

    You are blessed indeed, as are your sweet angels to have a mother such as you, Lori.

    Xoxo,
    Cara

    • Cara,

      For some reason my reply’s keep getting messed up and disappearing! But I wanted to be sure and say thank you again for being so sweet and leaving such wonderful comments! You never fail to LIGHT up my day and I always look forward to reading your kind words of support.

      Happy Monday!

      Lori

  2. Oh Lori, How lucky your girls are to have you for a Mom! That you know them well is evident in your words and that you love them well is even more obvious. This is so beautifully written and your pictures are so vivid that I feel I have met your two lovely girls in a field of flowers.

    • So kind of you to say, Mari! Thank you for stopping by and following me. 🙂 I look forward to checking out your place as well.

      Blessings to you!

      Lori

    • Cum foarte frumos din partea ta să spui. Mulţumesc. Eu nu vorbesc limba română, dar eu sunt foarte încântat să urmaţi blog-ul dvs. si de a invata mai multe despre tine cu ajutorul Google Translate. Binecuvântări pentru tine! 🙂

      • Wow! thanks for your desire to answer at my comment! it was a very pleasent surprise! If u want to know samething about me, u can ask me! I’d be honorated to answer!

Leave a Comment

