Vegetable Pot Pie

Standard

First of all, let me say that my recipes are not necessarily healthy or diet friendly.  They have been born out of necessity.  My husband and daughters will not eat meat.  Therefore, I have had to be creative in preparing tasty meat free meals that they would actually enjoy eating.  Sometimes I will sneak in chicken broth, or in this case chicken gravy mix.  Mostly because it’s very difficult to find vegan or vegetarian alternatives in my small town.

Secondly, I like simple recipes with very basic ingredients.  The easier, the better.  This recipe is very quick and easy to make, and It’s great on a cold winter day!

2 large potatoes peeled and cut in cubesImage
1 1/2 cups of carrot cut in small pieces
1/2 cup chopped onion
1/2 cup frozen peas
Salt and Pepper
2 packages Organic Chicken Gravy Mix
or Vegetarian Chicken Gravy Mix
1 package of Pillsbury Rolled Pie Crust or Homemade Crust

Place veggies in a medium sized sauce pan, add water to cover and season with salt and pepper.  Go easy on the salt because the gravy mix already has salt in it.  Bring to boil and cook for 20 mins. Remove from heat.  Mix both packages of gravy with 1 cup cold water and add to veggies, stir. Pour into pie pan lined with 1 crust. Put on top crust, flute edges and cut slits on top. Place on foil line cookie sheet and bake in Preheated 350 degree oven for about 30 minutes or until golden brown. Let set for 20 minutes before cutting. Enjoy!

About Lori Carter

Hello, my name is Lori and I’m a true child of the seventies. I grew up in a small Texas town. If you’ve ever seen the movie Dazed and Confused then you’ve seen a glimpse of my past. I’m a mother, storyteller, lover of nature, cooking and exploring natural folk remedies for addressing today’s health concerns. I hope you enjoying reading my little blog and I welcome any comments you may wish to share with me.

Leave a Comment

