Crispy Kale Chips

Standard

Oh my goodness!  How did I survive all these years without kale?  This kale recipe is incredibly healthy, too.  Do yourself a favor and try some asap.  Here’s a quick way to prepare it.

1 Large Bunch of Kale

1 to 2 TBS Olive Oil

Sea Salt

Preheat oven to 275 degrees.  Wash kale and throughly dry (very important).  Tear into large bite sized pieces and discard the tough stem part.  Place on a large sheet pan and drizzle with olive oil then very lightly sprinkle on sea salt. Toss to coat.  Place in oven for 10 minutes.  Remove from oven and toss around so all kale will get crispy.  Return to oven and bake additional 10 minutes. Watch closely or it may get overcooked.

One cup of kale contains 36 calories, 5 grams of fiber, and 15% of the daily requirement of calcium and vitamin B6 (pyridoxine), 40% of magnesium, 180% of vitamin A, 200% of vitamin C, and 1,020% of vitamin K. It is also a good source of minerals copper, potassium, iron, manganese, and phosphorus.

Kale’s health benefits are primarily linked to the high concentration and excellent source of antioxidant vitamins A, C, and K — and sulphur-containing phytonutrients.

Carotenoids and flavonoids are the specific types of antioxidants associated with many of the anti-cancer health benefits. Kale is also rich in the eye-health promoting lutein and zeaxanthin compounds.

Beyond antioxidants, the fiber content of cruciferous kale binds bile acids and helps lower blood cholesterol levels and reduce the risk of heart disease, especially when kale is cooked instead of raw.

source: http://www.webmd.com/food-recipes/features/the-truth-about-kale

About Lori Carter

Hello, my name is Lori and I’m a true child of the seventies. I grew up in a small Texas town. If you’ve ever seen the movie Dazed and Confused then you’ve seen a glimpse of my past. I’m a mother, storyteller, lover of nature, cooking and exploring natural folk remedies for addressing today’s health concerns. I hope you enjoying reading my little blog and I welcome any comments you may wish to share with me.

15 responses »

  1. Thank you Pam! Kale tastes like a cross between broccoli and brussel sprouts. I made this recipe for the first time yesterday and it was a big hit. It comes out real light and crispy and is a healthy snack to munch on in place of regular store bought chips. If you try it, let me know what you think. Love ya back! Lori

  2. I tried the kale chips! Wonderful! I added a bit too much salt and a bit too much oil, but they were so light and crispy and delicious anyway. I will definitely make them again. Thanks so much for sharing.

  3. Pingback: Kale Chips | veggie4ayear

    • Hi Emma! It’s really a neat way to eat kale. Just be sure the kale is REALLY dry after you wash it and go easy on the salt. My first batch turned out too salty. Hope you like it and thanks for checking out my blog, so glad to have you!!

Leave a Comment

