Vertigo

Standard

I’ve suffered from occasional bouts of vertigo my entire life.  It usually comes on suddenly and lasts anywhere from one day to up to a week.  I have the most common type of vertigo known as benign positional vertigo.  This is a condition in which a person develops a sudden sensation of spinning, usually when moving the head from one side to the other or turning over in bed. 

Benign positional vertigo is due to a disturbance within the inner ear. The inner ear has fluid-filled tubes called semicircular canals. The canals are very sensitive to movement of the fluid, which occurs as you change position. The fluid movement allows your brain to interpret your body’s position and maintain your balance.

Benign positional vertigo develops when a small piece of bone-like calcium breaks free and floats within the tube of the inner ear. This sends the brain confusing messages about your body’s position.

Picture of the Ear and Internal Structures

Luckily, my vertigo only happens to me once every few years, but when it does, it severely inhibits my life.  This past week it hit me again with a vengeance.  I couldn’t go more than an hour or two without experiencing “the spins”.  If you’ve never had vertigo, it actually feels and looks like the room is spinning.  It’s truly an awful and helpless feeling.

After doing some research, I came across this video.  I tried out the procedure called “Epley’s maneuver,” which can move the small piece of bone-like calcium that is floating inside your inner ear, and it worked!  I got immediate relief.  No unnecessary doctor’s bill, or drugs.

 

DISCLAIMER
Opinions or information offered on Bless Your Hippie Heart are not intended as a substitute for professional medical prevention, diagnosis, or treatment.  Please consult with your physician, pharmacist, or health care provider before taking any home remedies or supplements. Only your health care provider, personal physician, or pharmacist can provide you with advice on what is safe and effective for your unique needs or diagnose your particular medical history.

6 responses »

  1. My step-mom lives with this debilitating inhibitor. Like you said, it doesn’t happen all the time, but when it does, life ceases to exist. I live with double-vision so I know a bit about the dizzy sensations, bu nothing to do the degree in which you suffer. SO, so glad to hear that you tried something new and it worked!! Lifting this treatment and you up in prayer right now . . .

    Blessings,
    Cara

  2. Good for you Lori and thanks so much for sharing this experience. I am so sorry you have to endure the vertigo. My brother has suffered from Meuniere’s (sp?) Disease for years and years – never know when it will hit. It’s also an inner ear affliction (thought to be an auto immune disorder) that seems to be triggered by stress or high salt intake. I sent him a link to your post just in case the video exercise might help him with the dizzy spells that are sometimes incapacitating. Thanks again. Dor

  3. This is a great piece to post. I learned about this maneuver when my mother suffered from vertigo. It really does work, and people can learn to do it themselves. Nice work, Lori!

Leave a Comment

