Rosemary Bread

Standard

2 packets of active dry yeast
1 TBS sugar
1 cup warm water
2 1/2 cups flour
1 scant tsp salt
2 TBS fresh chopped rosemary
2 TBS olive oil
2 TBS melted butter + 1 tsp rosemary and ½ tsp salt

Place yeast, sugar and water in large bowl or bread machine and allow mixture to become bubbly. Mix in flour, 1 scant tsp salt, 2 TBS rosemary and olive oil. Knead for about 10 minutes by hand or use dough setting on bread machine. Add more flour if necessary. Let dough rise in a covered oiled bowl or leave in bread machine until doubled, about 45 to 55 minutes.

Punch down dough and divide in half. Spray baking pan or cookie sheet with cooking spray. Shape the dough into 2 small rounded oval loaves. Rub the 2 TBS melted butter + 1 tsp rosemary and ½ tsp salt over the loaves and press lightly into the surface.  Let loaves rise again until doubled, about 45 minutes.

Preheat oven to 375°F. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, until lightly browned.

About Lori Carter

Hello, my name is Lori and I’m a true child of the seventies. I grew up in a small Texas town. If you’ve ever seen the movie Dazed and Confused then you’ve seen a glimpse of my past. I’m a mother, storyteller, lover of nature, cooking and exploring natural folk remedies for addressing today’s health concerns. I hope you enjoying reading my little blog and I welcome any comments you may wish to share with me.

Leave a Comment